We have a winner

This was a pretty easy decision Stacey.

I was BBQing some burgers when I got home from work and avoiding the shrieks of an eight year old who has just realized that her doll has been thoroughly molested. I knew it was inevitable that I would have to witness some discipline tonight, shit was just getting out of hand. I don’t dole out a lot of punishment myself, and it’s probably a good thing, because I’m kind of old school that way, but I am at the ready to give a bellow whenever called upon.

This is a dramatization

Luckily the girls are very good and get along just splendidly, but every so often, they have just had enough of each other and things get heavy. I’m lucky(I think) that my lady is extremely patient when dealing with her children, and treats them like real people. Where I would probably just yell as loud as I could until someone paid attention to me. She calmly explains what is going to happen next and why the consequences that are happening, are happening. It’s actually quite amazing to me that fighting with your child until you cry out of frustration and eventually have a nervous breakdown, is not in fact the key to making children behave. (I am so sorry Mom, I love you very much) So with the TV and ipod privileges taken away, they both ate their supper and calmly asked if the could ride their bikes. I was thinking there would be no way that was happening, not after that display of childishness. When they were told that they could ride on the sidewalk until dark, I was a bit surprised and skeptical, but said nothing, because her methods have been working so far.

A little bit younger, but pretty frigging accurate

Twenty minutes later they arrived and explained that they had apologized to each other and went about the various studying and doll playing that leads up to getting ready for bed. Wait, this isn’t how it’s supposed to go. There was no shouting at them, no one got spanked, or better yet The Belt. Now that I think about it, they weren’t even grounded, or put to bed. I’m totally confused now because kids need to be spanked and yelled at once in a while, ask my Dad. I don’t understand these newfangled ways, but in the year we’ve been together they’ve seemed to work pretty good. I find it crazy that I am not talking to them like they are too young to understand the complexities of how life works. When they ask a question, I answer them like I’d answer anyone, and they seem to respect me for that. They are actually much smarter than I was at their ages, and a hell of a lot cuter. That’s saying a lot, because everyone said I was the cutest little fucker they ever did see, but that was a long time ago, when people drank more cocktails during the day than they do now.

C'mon I was cute. Right?

Please hold me in your arms,

Birdman

Leave a comment

Filed under Comedy, Humor

Leave a Reply

