Wow, people actually read this thing?

It has been brought to my attention that I haven’t talked about why I’m out here, so thank you Patti, because had you not mentioned it, I’d still be boggling the minds of the eight people that don’t know me, or the story. What really surprises me every day, is the fact that people who aren’t my friends would want to read about my crazy life or mind. I totally understand why you’d want to read the blog, only because it’s very random, you might catch a glimpse of my true love, and now the Chinster is on board, but that’s about it. Don’t get me wrong, I really appreciate it, and it makes me feel very good about myself, but I’ve never thought of my life as noteworthy. I’ve been less than average in school, work and the choices I’ve made up until I was 36 years old. I’m not saying I turned all brainy-headed all at once, but I started thinking about my happiness a lot more, and knew I needed to change a lot of the things I was doing, and the way I was doing them. That leads me to where I am now and I’m about 7000% happier than I was when I was a younger man.That being said, I’ll explain what the hell I’m doing in northeastern BC.

I was tired of making shit money at shit jobs, so I decided that I was heading west. I had taken a load out there and spent a week with my brothers when they lived in Chilliwack, BC. It was awesome. I said right there that I was moving there in September, so I gave my boss two months notice, and started setting my plan in motion. I bought a boat, motor and trailer from my step-dad Paul, packed the bearings, and then packed what of my belongings that would fit, into the boat, and the back of my Jeep, and hit the road. While working out of Chilliwack, I took a load of furniture up to Fort St. John, BC (FSJ) and thought that I’d look up some of the Surerus clan from back home. I had heard that they had a pipeline outfit, and figured that while I was there, I’d see if anyone remembered me. I couldn’t find anyone, so I headed for home. About six months later, I was hauling some pipe from Houston, TX to Edmonton, AB and when I went to deliver it, they told me it had to go to their yard in FSJ and my boss said it was ok. When I got there it was late, so I went to the Petro-Pass and grabbed a bite to eat. I sat there and watched all these big diesel pickups getting fuel. I asked the waitress how everyone could afford these expensive trucks, and she said it was the oilfield. I mentioned that I’d just like to have enough money to buy one, but didn’t want one, and she asked what I did for work. I told her that I was a driver, and she laughed, telling me that I could easily get work driving a truck.

Fast forward one year, I was frustrated with a job offer that went by the wayside, and headed for the oilfield. I have been working here for every winter since 2001, and a few of the summers as well. I have made some of my best friends here, and learned an awful lot about life, love and work ethic. If you don’t blow your money, like I did in my first years, you can do quite well here, which brings us to this summer. As most of you know, I’ll be marrying the woman of my dreams in the coming year. She is the apple of my eye, and the single greatest thing that’s ever happened to me. I don’t know if you know much about weddings, but they can sometimes cost money. We are also in the middle of a really gross  landscaping and home renovation project, and to top it off, I want to change career paths. Unfortunately this may all put a damper on our money situation, so we decided that it would be okay if I came back out west to work for the winter, in order to put away enough cash to allow me to pursue an entry level position in radio. I guess it’s not a high paying gig when you start out, so I’ll need a bit of a buffer to get me through the trial period.

Needless to say, we now realize that it is harder than it seems to leave someone that you love more than life, and we have decided that there will be no more heading out for some quick cash and cheap thrills. It’s just not worth the heartbreak, the grief or the constant urge to masturbate. I really do get all choked up when I think about those three girls sitting at home, and how bad I want to be there with them. Even just for one more hug, a living-room dance recital, or hearing them tell me that they love me, after I monster hug them goodnight. Well, the little ones, that is. Their mother is one of the greatest women I know, and I know some of the best. She has a tenderness that melts away a shitty day, and a smile that says there’s a little mischief  left behind those eyes. There is no doubt in my mind that she would excel at any project that she put her mind to, and I think that looking at her face is the greatest way to fall asleep and wake up the next morning. She never gets grumpy when she’s premenstrual, and I’ve never seen her kick a puppy, kitten or baby. I think that if she’s not entirely perfect, she’s absolutely perfect for me. She sends me to new heights, and tells me how proud she is when I reach them, but never once scolds me if I don’t reach them. She is also the most talented person I’ve ever been with, and she makes me want to shout from the rooftops when she gives me that special wink. You know that wink. The one that says, “Hey, the kids are at their Dad’s. Let’s grab a tub of ice cream, and hit the cocoon for the next fourteen hours.”

I guess I’ll quit my public adoration, and get to bed. That’s when the real love affair begins, because she sent my pillow and the bottom blanket from our bed with me. I love to hold it close to my face and dream about how perfect my life is, but mostly how perfect my love is.

Lady, let me take a look at you now,

Birdman

4 Comments

Filed under Birdman, Humor, Life

4 responses to “Wow, people actually read this thing?

  1. krista

    another great Blog Chris……….love reading!!! hope all is well out there. i know that xmas is not that far away, but im sure it seems like forever to you and Gerri….

  2. Vette

    It was so great talking with you today! I missed your furry mug. I am so happy for you and Mrs.Birdman. You found your lobster.

    I love you man.

Leave a Reply

