Well, I guess we’re heading north

I’m sorry, but I didn’t get a chance to write much for today. I guess I should have saved Pike’s post for now, but I didn’t realize I was going to be so damn lazy.  Now we have to go to work tomorrow, and I need to sleep. I’ll try to remember to take photos on the way up, or maybe Chin could do that, because I always forget. It’s about a seven hour drive north to get to the area we are supposedly heading to, but at least we are going to be finally working . I was getting a little worried that I had brought old Chinster out for nothing, but my fears were alleviated, and now we can rejoice in the fact that we shall toil away under the northern lights.

I had a good cry tonight when I talked to Mrs. Birdman on the phone. She told me that T had put the first present under the tree, and it was for me. She then stood in the middle of the room and said that she was closing her eyes and made a wish that when she opened her eyes, I would be there. Christ, I’m half bawling now, just thinking about it. I’m such a fucking wreck anymore. Every day I count down to when I get to see them again, and I wonder how I’m going to be able to do this after the new year for another stint. I guess it might be easier then, but I doubt it. I hope that they know how much I love them. I think they do, but you never know with kids. I guess I’ve never done anything to make them doubt me or my intentions, but I think that when I see them, I’ll need to be careful not to hug them so hard that it hurts them. I know Mrs. B can handle my hugs, but the girls are just little.

I’m also thankful that Aaron and Lannie invited us to stay at their place while we were here. It saved us sleeping on the floor at Johnny’s apartment, and it was also really great to see them again. The boys are growing up so fast, and are so damn smart, that it boggles my mind. I guess when you go a year and a half without seeing them, it can make it seem like sudden growth spurts. I also got to have a good visit with Julie and Daisy, with whom I used to live, and go for a couple of good sightseeing drives with Chin. I really love this area, and it was nice to get to show it off. We also had the best rouladen at Freddy’s Deli in Hudson’s Hope. If you ever make it there, you won’t be disappointed with the food. I don’t think he is capable of making a bad meal.

Now here’s a map of where we are, and where we’re heading.

I wonder if Chinster googled this before agreeing to it?

 

I’ll try to get something done for Wednesday, but I can’t guarantee it, so if anyone has a post they’d like to put up, I sure don’t mind.

I think upon Mackenzie, David Thompson and the rest,

Birdman

3 Comments

Filed under Birdman, Humor, Life

3 responses to “Well, I guess we’re heading north

  1. Jesus H. Christ…that is North. Poor Chin…he had no idea what he was in for… 😉

  2. Chin

    I make sure I tell Birdman that I’m wearing my woolies, strictly out of fear that he will check!

Leave a Reply

