Today we look to the east

I love most kinds of music, and I’m sure a lot of you are like that, so I feel okay to make a suggestion to you. There is one artist in particular that I always go back to, over and over. His music is timeless, and his voice is very distinct, and I’m sad to say that a lot of Canadians don’t know of Stan Rogers. I didn’t myself, until about ten years ago, or so. Geoff Ashford was singing Barrett’s Privateers, while we were drunk at Keypile, and I recognized the song from people singing it at parties. I just had no idea who sang it. When he told me, I went straight to the music store in the mall, after breakup, and ordered Fogarty’s Cove. I was in heaven. I immediately started looking for info on this guy, and was quite saddened to find out that he died in the fire on Air Canada Flight 797. He was only 33 years old, with so much more life to live.

 

To say that he has a powerful presence is putting it mildly. I don’t think there is a song of his that I don’t like, and there are some that I absolutely love. Way too many to post here, but I’ll put up a few in hopes that you will go to  http://www.stanrogers.net/ and check out his legacy. There are also many videos on Youtube that can give you some insight, and help you decide if you’d like to support his family, by buying some of his incredible music.

I wish it wasn’t going to kill this post for me to put up all of the ones I love, but it will, and I don’t want to do that, so I’ll put up two more, and be done with you.This next one is dedicated to Mrs. Birdman, and always tugs at my heartstrings when I hear it.

This last one makes me remember a man, who lived, and loved his life of farming, raising his family and being one of the greatest men I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. It may be inappropriate, but I think Mrs. B will understand. I’ve told her how much I liked my ex-father in law, and how much I respected him, so it may be totally appropriate. Anyhow, old buddy, this ones for you, and it will always bring a tear to my eye. Rest in peace George.

So there you have it, the new weekend format. We’ll see how that goes, and if you have someone in mind that you’d like to have featured on the weekends, please harass us, and let us know. We love to hear about really good shit too, you know.

It’s like that, and it’s like this, I took her to the pad and we started to kiss,

Birdman

Leave a comment

Filed under Birdman, Musical enlightenment

Leave a Reply

